ADVERTISEMENT

Arizona calls special Board of Regents meeting for 8/1/2023.

Not suprised, big 12, goes to 14, helps hoops, but football is blah, does not move the needle, there's reason gonzaga not going to big 12, no football that simple. If UNLV, Aztecs, SMU and not sure how well CSU is on academics makes sense to me to PAC, I be happy, and in 5 yrs or so new tv contracts come UNLV good in football and hoops they could move on to bigger and better things, keep academics growing!

Athlon is reporting Oregon, Washington, Clemson and Florida St could join the Big10 this week?
I have no inside knowledge. However, I wonder if the Big 10 would take Stanford over Oregon. As a research institution, Oregon is a little stronger than UNLV, but weaker than Utah and much weaker than Stanford.

Reactions: LVRebel2000
I have no inside knowledge. However, I wonder if the Big 10 would take Stanford over Oregon. As a research institution, Oregon is a little stronger than UNLV, but weaker than Utah and much weaker than Stanford.

I’d be surprised if they did, I think UO and UW are 1&2 in whichever order of the available PAC schools but i also think there is a good chance Stanford joins them at some point. Obviously at least 2 to get 4 west coast schools and if it comes to fruition with Clemson and FSU that could hurt another West Coast schools chances this year.

I’m not sure the BIG cares as much as they once did about academics vs keeping up with the SEC and changing CFB landscape.

Well, if the Pac loses Oregon, WA, AZ, and ASU I see a MWC/Pac# Merger. There is no way in hell the Pac12 can survive this. Athlon also had an article where it talks about the Pac12 paying some of the Aztecs exit fee just to get them in for 2024. However, losing four more teams there is no way the Pac12 is paying for anyone's exit fee. The Pac is going to die.

Stay tuned. Info is already leaking. Heavy streaming deal as we suspected. Money in the low $20's. Apple+ may be the big player.